Five steps you should know about when hurt on-the-job in Michigan.
Many people call our office wondering about the steps involved in workers’ compensation. Stress and confusion is never a good recipe for a quick recovery.
We think knowledge is power so here are five steps you should know about when seeking workers’ compensation benefits.
Step 1: Give notice
Michigan law requires notice within ninety days. However, it is critical to report injury as soon as possible. Employers think late notice a red flag and will automatically question your story. We have seen cases where notice was given the very next day and the insurance company still denied payment.
Step 2: Make a claim
Workers technically have two years to make a claim for benefits. Claim can be oral so simply asking for medical treatment should be enough. But waiting two years to seek medical care is never a good idea! We recommend seeing a doctor immediately and making sure a correct medical history is provided.
Step 3: See company doctor
Choice of doctor is limited during the first 28 days and it is common to be seen at an industrial clinic. These facilities do not always make the correct diagnosis. We recommend selecting your own doctor as soon as possible.
Step 4: Collect wage loss benefits
Wage loss benefits are not paid during the first seven days unless disability continues for more than two weeks. Injured workers are generally required to use sick pay or vacation time. Many employers also offer light duty instead of paying lost wages. Unfortunately, this can be abused when a person is forced to work beyond medical restrictions.
Step 5: Plan for the future
We recommend talking with an experienced attorney if you have a serious workplace accident. It is possible to leverage workers’ compensation benefits into a cash settlement. This allows a person to seek medical treatment on their own terms and/or find a new job within restrictions.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by Valerie Everett.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers