How tax filing status and number of dependents can impact the payment rate under workers’ compensation in Michigan.
Yesterday’s blog post was about the 2019 Weekly Benefit Tables being released. It discussed how to calculate an employee’s average weekly wage and figure out the payment rate under workers’ compensation in Michigan.
Two additional factors that must be known are tax filing status and number of dependents. Here is some information to ensure the correct payment rate is selected when using the 2019 Weekly Benefit Tables.
Tax Filing Status
The 2019 Weekly Benefit Tables include four tax filing statuses: (1) single; (2) married filing jointly; (3) single head of household; and (4) married filing separately. Determination of the correct filing status is based on the employee’s status on the date of injury and the eligibility criteria used for federal income tax purposes.
Number of Dependents
Dependency shall be determined in accordance with the facts at the time of injury. A child under the age of 16 years, or 16 years or over if physically or mentally incapacitated from earning, living with his or parent at the time is presumed dependent. Other family members including spouses can also be found dependent provided they do not receive half or more support from another source.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by MoneyBlogNewz.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers