The workers comp check is in the mail …

Michigan workers comp lawyer explains what you can do when your wage loss check is missing or late.

One of the most frustrating problems our clients have is missing and late wage loss checks. It’s hard enough not being able to work and support a family. Even one late check can be devastating.

Here is some information about when you can expect to be paid under workers comp. Remember, that every situation is unique and your experience may be different.

When do benefits start?

There is a 7 day wait period under workers comp. You will not receive any wage loss benefits during the first week of disability. Most employers require that you use vacation or sick time during this period of time.

Entitlement to wage loss benefits begin on the 8th missed day. If your disability lasts longer than 14 days, you can receive wage loss benefits going back to the first day.

Medical benefits will begin on the first day of injury. But you must wait 28 days to choose your own doctor.

My check is missing!

You wage loss benefits should be paid on a weekly basis. Your first check is due on the 14th day of disability. However, the Agency will not consider a check late until 30 days past due.

Our experience shows that insurance companies and administrators sometimes take much longer. It is possible that your claim is being investigated and the adjuster wants to review medical records. It is also possible that your employer has not provided wage records and is delaying the claim.

We think missing and late checks are a red flag that you might have a problem. We advise you to speak with a workers comp lawyer if your checks are not promptly paid.

Why you need a lawyer

Even if you are receiving wage loss benefits, it is a good idea to hire legal counsel. A good lawyer can help you avoid minor problems before they turn into major issues.

Many of our clients report that insurance companies want to take a recorded statement before they pay any benefits. There is nothing in the workers comp law that requires this interview.

Additionally, we find that insurance companies pay at the wrong weekly rate because they fail to include overtime or premium pay in the average weekly wage calculation. Some insurance companies actually use the wrong weeks and this could substantially reduce your benefits.

Call (855) 221-2667 to speak with one of our workers comp lawyers in Michigan. We offer free telephone consultations and never charge a fee to review a case.

Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. He’s been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers compensation benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.

Related information:

Video: What you need to know now to protect your rights and obtain your workers compensation benefits

Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by NJ Tech Teacher.

09/01/2012
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.