How much can my work accident lawyer charge?

Michigan work accident lawyer breaks down the various fees and costs that you might see in your case.

We frequently get calls from individuals who believe their lawyers are charging too much money. There seems to be some confusion about what can be charged for a work accident case in Michigan. Here is some information to help you understand what fees and costs you might see.

Michigan law limits the amount that can be charged. Watch out for lawyers who want to charge you just to meet or discuss your case. This usually indicates they are not experienced in this area of the law.

An experienced work accident lawyer will take your case on contingency. This means you owe no fee unless you are successful with your case. Many people refer to this as a no win no fee case.

Costs and Expenses

You should remember that costs and expenses are always paid out of your settlement or award. For example, it can cost thousands of dollars to take the deposition of your doctor. This will always be paid back to your lawyer first.


If benefits are being paid and no lawsuit has been filed, the maximum fee is 10% of your settlement.

If benefits have been disputed, the fee is 15% of the first $25,000.00 and 10% on the remainder of any settlement.

If you receive a voluntary payment, the fee will be 30% of accrued benefits.


Some work accident cases cannot be settled and must proceed to trial. You will pay a 30% fee on any wage loss benefits that are awarded. No fee will be charged on future benefits after the case is finalized.

Sometimes a case is settled after trial has been completed. The fee in this circumstance will equal 20% of any settlement.

Hire the best lawyer

It costs you nothing to hire a great work accident lawyer. You only pay a fee if you are successful with your case. Don’t wait until your benefits are stopped to seek help.

To speak with one of our work accident lawyers in Michigan, call (855) 221-2667 for a free telephone consultation. Our goal is to help you get the best possible recovery.

Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. He’s been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers comp benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.

Related information:

FAQs: Injured on the job in Michigan

Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.