Work injury attorney breaks down the top questions people want to know about their workers comp benefits in 2012.
We have seen major changes to Michigan’s workers comp law this year. Here are the most frequently asked questions that we receive.
Q. What does workers comp pay for lost wages?
The amount paid should equal 80% of your after-tax average weekly wage. This will be approximately 60% of your gross pay. The maximum weekly rate for 2012 is $775.00.
Wage loss benefits can be further reduced if you are only partially disabled. This will depend upon your wage earning capacity. This is your ability to find other employment after an injury.
Q. Can I select my own doctor?
You must wait 28 days to choose your own doctor. We recommend that you select your own doctor to avoid a potential conflict of interest with the insurance company. You need a doctor on your side if your benefits are every disputed.
Q. Can I get help around the house?
You are entitled to attendant care if you need help with activities of daily living. The insurance company must hire a professional or you can select a family member. Relatives can get paid up to 56 hours per week for performing these services.
Q. Is my job protected?
You have no job protection under workers comp. However, you may have a separate case if you were fired in retaliation for making a claim.
Q. Can I afford an attorney?
Workers comp cases are handled on contingency. This means that you pay nothing unless you are successful with your case. Don’t let the fear of cost stop you from hiring a great attorney.
Q. How do I get started with my case?
Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation with a work injury attorney in Michigan. We will make sure that you get all the benefits that you deserve.
– Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. Hes been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers comp benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.