Six Questions: Workers Compensation Rights In Michigan

Top six questions and answers that our clients want to know.

Alex Berman is the founder of the law firm and meets with all new clients. He has over 35 years of experience and oversees all cases. He will take the time you need to understand your legal rights. Sometimes this meeting will last for two or more hours.

Alex believes that it is important to have a personal relationship with each client and to understand his or her needs. A strategy will be developed so that the client has the best possible result. Many of our clients simply want to settle their case and move on with their life.

Alex understands the stress and worry that comes with a serious work injury. Knowing your rights can help alleviate this pressure. Here are our top six questions that our clients want to know at the initial client meeting.

How much does a workers compensation lawyer cost?

All cases are taken on contingency. This means you pay nothing unless we are successful with your case. We will even advance litigation costs so you can be on equal footing with the insurance company and their attorneys. The maximum attorney fee on most settlements is 15% of the first $25,000 and 10% on the remainder.

Will my case start immediately?

The decision to file a case will be made at the initial client meeting. Sometimes it is better to monitor the situation and not let the insurance company know a lawyer has been consulted. We offer free legal advice and have represented some clients for years without charging a penny.

Can the insurance company stop my benefits?

Employers and insurance companies can stop the payment of benefits at any time. All they need to do is file a dispute with the Agency. This usually occurs after a person attends an independent medical examination (IME). There is nothing “independent” about these examinations because the doctor is handpicked by the insurance company. Speaking with a workers compensation lawyer is NOT a basis to dispute benefits.

Will I get 100% of my pay under workers compensation?

Payment for lost wages is one of the most important benefits under workers compensation. A person should receive 80% of the after-tax value of his or her average weekly wage. This usually works out to be about 60% of gross pay. These cash benefits are income tax free.

Who will pay my medical bills?

All reasonable and necessary medical care should be paid by workers compensation. If benefits have been disputed, a person can use his or her own private health insurance to get treatment. Reimbursement may be necessary if a person later receives a settlement or award.

Do I need to attend the pre-trial hearing?

Notice of pre-trial is received approximately one month after a case is filed. It is called a hearing but nothing really happens. The magistrate will simply assign a new date and resolve any scheduling issues. It is not necessary to attend pre-trial if you are represented by a  lawyer.

Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation with one of our workers compensation lawyers in Michigan. We will do everything possible to protect your legal rights.

Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. He’s been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years.  Alex has helped countless people obtain workers compensation and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.

Related information:

VIDEO: Injured at work? Advice from a Michigan workers compensation lawyer

Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by umjanedoan.

03/01/2013
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.