Michigan workers comp lawyer answers some of the top questions for 2013.
Workers comp has gone through major changes in the last few years. This has caused greater confusion for our clients regarding their benefits. Here are the most common questions that have been asked during the last year.
1. How much does workers comp pay in Michigan?
One of the most important benefits under workers comp is payment for lost wages. This should equal 80% of your after-tax average weekly wage. The math can get somewhat confusing but figure approximately 60% of your gross pay subject to a state maximum of $798.00 per week.
The introduction of partial disability in 2011 has created additional confusion. Insurance companies and employers can now subtract your estimated “wage earning capacity” from your weekly checks. Your benefits might be reduced just because the insurance company says you can work somewhere else.
2. Will all my medical bills be covered under workers comp?
Workers comp is designed to cover all reasonable and necessary medical care. However, treatment must be related to the work injury itself. Workers comp is not health insurance, so don’t count on it to cover all of your medical conditions.
3. How much is the average workers comp settlement in Michigan?
Statistics published by the State of Michigan show the average settlement for 2012 equaled $61,960.62. In our practice, we settle cases ranging from nuisance value to hundreds of thousands of dollars. The amount of a workers comp settlement depends upon the length of disability and future medical costs.
4. Do I have to look for work?
Michigan law requires a person to search for jobs within his or her qualifications, training, and restrictions. It does not matter whether that person is still employed. Failure to perform a good-faith job search can be used as a basis to deny benefits.
5. How much does a workers comp lawyer charge in Michigan?
Most workers comp cases are eventually settled. The fee is 15% of the first $25,000 and 10% on the remainder in a disputed case. The fee is 10% for claims that are being paid voluntarily.
To speak with one of our workers comp lawyers in Michigan, call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation. There is never a fee unless you are successful with your case.
– Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. Hes been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers comp benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.