Calculating your weekly comp rate is not hard when you have the right tools and information.
Insurance companies cannot be trusted to pay the correct weekly amount. We have seen individuals paid thousands of dollars less than what is required by Michigan law.
This happens when an insurance company does not contact the employer for wage records and simply estimates how much an individual should be paid. Sometimes the employer fails to provide accurate wage records.
Payment for lost wages is a vital benefit under workers comp. Figuring out your weekly comp rate is not as difficult as it seems. This is especially true when the Agency releases its own calculator to help you. Here is a screenshot of the tool and the information you need.
Doing the math correctly
The key to figuring out your weekly comp rate is the average weekly wage (AWW). This is the amount of money you earned in the highest 39 weeks during the 52 weeks before your injury. Overtime, premium pay, and bonuses should be included.
Watch out for employers and insurance companies who exclude this information. Discontinued fringe benefits can even be used to increase your weekly comp rate. This includes items you may not have even considered.
Partial disability trap
We have blogged in the past about the introduction of partial disability. Imaginary wages are used by insurance companies to offset weekly comp checks. This is based upon wage earning capacity as determined by insurance company vocational experts.
You cannot have a great recovery unless you understand all of your legal rights. We believe that knowledge is power. Call us at (855) 221-2667 and we can help.
– Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. Hes been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers comp benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.