I’m not a lawyer – but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night

A warning about legal advice on the Internet and why you must speak with a licensed attorney in your geographical area.

I received a frantic telephone call from a former client last week. He settled his case several months ago and had questions about administering his Medicare Set-Aside account. He tried to find answers by watching YouTube videos and the information overload caused him to panic. His worries were quickly put to rest with a telephone call to our office.

Our client could have done real harm by listening to advice he found online. I reminded him that we have over 80 years experience at our disposal and would be happy to speak with him anytime.

This situation got me thinking about how people use the Internet to perform legal research. We even make our website a resource for people who want to know more about workers’ compensation in Michigan. So consider this a warning about advice on the Internet and some issues to watch. Remember, most attorneys will evaluate your case for free and only get paid if you recover benefits.

Maximum medical improvement

Maximum medical improvement (MMI) is the point where you have reached a healing plateau and no further improvement can be expected. It is common to see insurance adjusters close claims when you have reached this stage. Usually based upon their own independent medical evaluation. This is not correct  because medical care is a lifetime benefit in Michigan. It is possible that your doctor wants follow-up visits and continuing treatment in the future. Additional benefits like attendant care and home modifications are still available. Speak with an experienced attorney whenever your medical benefits are denied.

Disability rating

Every state has its own type of workers’ compensation. Differences in the amount and duration are common. Some states pay benefits until you reach MMI while others assign disability or impairment ratings paying a lump sum. Michigan is a wage loss state and benefits continue provided you remain disabled. You should generally receive 80% of your after-tax average weekly wage if you are unable to work. These wage loss benefits can be traded for a lump sum cash settlement.

Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.

Related information:

Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers’ Compensation Law (Free Book)

Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by photosteve101.

Tags:
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.