Michigan Workers’ Compensation Agency releases its 2014 Pay Lag Report and when to expect your first weekly check.
Workers’ compensation is a safety net for people hurt at work. It is supposed to provide regular income for disabled employees and their families.
Even one late check could be a financial disaster if a person is living paycheck to paycheck. Here is what you need to know about when you can expect your fist weekly check.
The Pay Lag Report shows when group funds, self-insureds, and insurance carriers start payment of weekly benefits. The 2014 average is 2 days longer than the 14-day time period required under Michigan law. Some insurance carriers wait 20+ days to commence payment.
An employee must be disabled for at least 1 week before wage loss benefits are owed. A week is 7 consecutive days and includes weekends. Missing 2 weeks or more will result in payment go back to the first week.
Checks are not typically considered late until 30 days past due. Our experience shows that poor claims handling and unresponsive employers are the primary reasons why checks go missing.
Late checks could also be a warning sign that your claim might be disputed. Watch out for insurance adjusters who insist on getting an independent medical examination before starting weekly checks.
There is a $50 per day penalty if wage loss benefits are not paid within 30 days of becoming due. This penalty is subject to a maximum of $1,500.00.
We recommend contacting an attorney before your claim is disputed. It is possible to resolve minor issues before they turn into major problems.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by slgckgc.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers