What every injured worker needs to know about attorney fees in Michigan and how you can afford to hire a great lawyer.
Insurance companies can afford to pay their lawyers on an hourly basis. These fees can quickly run into the thousands of dollars. This is done for the sole purpose of reducing or eliminating the payment of benefits.
Most injured workers cannot afford to hire a lawyer on an hourly basis. Just putting food on the table is difficult when benefits have been stopped.
Michigan law recognizes this problem and allows an individual to hire a lawyer on contingency. This means no fee is owed unless you actually recover money.
Did you know that contingency fees were set back in 1969? Attorneys have not gotten a raise in years despite how complicated these cases have become. Here are the various maximum fees you could see with your own workers’ comp case.
Attorney fees are a flat 10% if you settle your case while workers’ comp benefits are paid voluntarily. This allows an individual the freedom to pursue medical and vocational rehabilitation on their own terms without interference from the insurance company. Many of our clients use this money to go back to school or get retrained for a new career.
Lots of people find their medical and wage loss benefits disputed. The insurance company has stopped paying and financial obligations are spinning out-of-control. Settlement is an attractive option because you can avoid the uncertainties of trial and get money immediately. The attorney fee is 15% of the first $25,000 and 10% on any additional paid.
Some cases just cannot be settled. This results in a formal trial and one side is going to win and the other is going to lose. Attorneys can charge up to 30% if accrued benefits are awarded by the magistrate. It is also possible to charge 30% if your attorney forces the insurance company to start benefits voluntarily.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by thethreesisters.