WCA updates its calculator program for 2016 and a reminder to double check your weekly rate.
We have represented clients who were paid thousands of dollars less than what is required under Michigan law.
Weekly benefits are supposed to be calculated based upon actual earnings and not estimates. This includes overtime, bonuses, and premium pay. Use the highest paid 39 weeks during the last 52 before injury.
A person is generally entitled to 80% of their after-tax average weekly wage. Charts published by the State of Michigan will determine your weekly rate. You will need to know tax filing status and number of dependents.
Doubling checking the math is easy when you have the right tools. The WCA releases its official calculator every year. We have posted a screenshot above showing the weekly rate calculation. Download the application here.
Warning: Insurance companies also use “wage earning capacity” to say a person is only partially disabled. This results in much less being paid and should be challenged. Contact an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer if you think weekly benefits are incorrect.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Related information:Michigan workers comp lawyers