Answers to some of the most frequent Michigan workers’ comp questions asked in 2016.
Today is December 1, 2016 and the year is quickly coming to an end. We wanted to revisit some of the most common questions and answers for 2016. Please contact our office for a free telephone consultation if you have questions about your own situation.
1. How much is my weekly check?
Michigan law requires payment of wage loss benefits if a person is disabled from work. The amount is generally 80% of after-tax average weekly wage. This should be approximately 60% of gross pay. The maximum amount is $842.00 per week for 2016. Watch out for insurance companies who reduce this benefit using post-injury wage earning capacity (PIWEC).
2. Can I select my own doctor under workers’ comp?
Access to medical care is the most important benefit under Michigan workers’ comp. Insurance companies want to make this decision for you in order to save money and manipulate restrictions. You can choose your own doctor 28 days from the start of medical care.
3. Can my employer force me back to work?
Employers do not owe wage loss benefits if light duty is offered. This is called “reasonable employment” or “favored work” and it must be within restrictions. Sometimes employers use this fact against people forcing them to perform demeaning tasks. Do not quit your job in anger as this can damage a potential case.
4. What happens if my workers’ comp claim is denied?
We recommend challenging bad decisions in court. A magistrate will decide whether you are entitled to lost wages and/or medical treatment. Health insurance will pay disputed medical bills while your workers’ comp case is pending.
5. Can I get a workers’ comp settlement?
Many people just want to settle and move on with their lives. It is possible to trade workers’ comp benefits for a lump sum cash payment. This allows you to do your own medical and vocational rehabilitation without interference from the insurance company. We recommend coming up with a plan for the future and using settlement money to achieve these goals.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photos courtesy of Creative Commons, by Horia Varlan.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers