Pay Lag Report Released

Workers’ Compensation Agency (WCA) releases its 2017 Pay Lag Report and what penalties are available.

Getting hurt on the-the-job can turn your life upside down. It can be a financial disaster if living paycheck-to-paycheck.

Workers’ compensation is designed as a safety net and pays wage loss benefits to individuals who are disabled from their job. Weekly checks equal to 80% of the after-tax average weekly wage start after 7 consecutive days of disability.

The 2017 Pay Lag Report has now been released and it shows when group funds, self-insured employers, and insurance carriers typically begin payment. This does not include claims where a Notice of Dispute has been filed.

WCA statistics show group funds take an average of 16 days to start payment. Self-insureds take an average of 14 days. Insurance carriers take 17 days. Some of these entities took 30 days or more to start payment!

Checks are considered late when they are 30 days past due. A person can seek penalties of $50 per day up to a maximum of $1,500.

We understand the financial problems caused by late checks. Our experience shows that poor claims handling is the main reason this happens. It is important to speak with an experienced lawyer if this occurs.

Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.

Related information:

Maximum weekly comp rate for 2018

Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by pheaber.

Tags:
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.