Michigan Legislature passes minimum wage increase and what this could mean for family members who are getting paid for attendant care.
We previously blogged about a minimum wage increase that was approved by the Michigan Legislature. It will pay $10 starting on Jan. 1, 2019, $10.65 on Jan. 1, 2020, $11.35 on Jan. 1, 2021 and $12 on Jan. 1, 2022. Here is why this could be good news for people on workers’ compensation.
Individuals hurt on-the-job are limited to just 90% of the state-wide average weekly wage. Increasing the minimum wage should have a positive impact on the maximum weekly comp rate. This means high wage earners keep more of their salary if they are disabled from working.
A minimum wage hike could also mean family members get paid more for providing attendant care. Unlike wage loss benefits, this amount is not fixed at the time of injury. Family members are supposed to be paid market rates up to 56 hours each week.
A family member should be paid the same as a professional. Hourly wage estimates and job descriptions can be obtained from the Department of Labor (DOL). For example, a Home Health Aide in the Warren-Troy-Farmington Hills area has a mean hourly wage of $11.48.
Our experience shows insurance companies pay too little for attendant care. Family members should be compensated for helping with activities of daily living. This includes help with the bathroom, bathing, getting dressed, preparing meals, taking medications, wound care, and even observation while a person sleeps. Make sure to contact a lawyer if attendant care benefits are not being paid.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by wuestenigel.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers