Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency (WDCA) releases Michigan Workers’ Compensation rates for 2019 and how to calculate benefit amount.
The WDCA announced that the Michigan Workers’ Compensation rates for 2019; the maximum weekly comp rate for 2019 is $921.00. Michigan workers’ comp law sets a maximum for how much a disabled employee can receive. It is limited to 90% of the state-wide average weekly wage. The idea is to limit disabled employees to what most people in Michigan are earning.
It does not matter how much a disabled employee was earning before getting hurt on-the-job. Unfortunately, this punishes high wage earners who are stuck with this cap. Here is how to calculate the benefit amount.
Step 1: Calculate average weekly wage
Calculate the average weekly wage using pay stubs from the last year before getting hurt. Make sure to include overtime, premium pay, and bonuses. We recommend organizing 52 weeks of pay stubs in order from highest gross amount to lowest gross amount. Take the highest 39 pay stubs and add them together. Divide this total number by 39 to get the average weekly wage.
Step 2: Use benefit table to find weekly comp rate
Disabled employees should receive 80% of their after-tax average weekly wage. Tables published by the WDCA show the Michigan Workers’ Compensation rates for 2019 based upon tax filing status and number of dependents. The maximum weekly comp rate for 2019 is $921 per week.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.
Related information:Michigan workers comp lawyers