Number of employees needed to trigger purchase requirement for workers’ compensation insurance in Michigan.
We have blogged this week about employers refusing to file workers’ compensation claims and how to check if insurance coverage exists. Today’s focus is on the numerical test that triggers the purchase requirement for employers in Michigan.
Workers’ compensation is designed to protect both employees and employers in the event of a workplace accident. Employees get medical treatment and wage loss benefits regardless of fault. Employers get protection from civil lawsuits.
Private employers who regularly have 3 or more employees are required to buy workers’ compensation insurance. It is also required for private employers who regularly employ at least 1 person for 35 or more hours per week for 13 weeks or longer during the preceding 52 weeks. Households employing domestic help if they employ anyone 35 hours or more per week for 13 weeks or longer during the preceding 52 weeks must have workers’ compensation insurance. All public employers regardless of number of employees should have workers’ compensation insurance.
Watch out for employers who say they don’t have workers’ compensation insurance. Our experience shows this is typically incorrect and used to discourage claims. Uninsured employers are still responsible for payment of workers’ compensation benefits and can be found personally liable.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by free pictures of money.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers