Michigan workers’ comp lawyer explains how to protect legal rights and why these injuries are frequently denied.
Our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers are often contacted by disabled employees with back injuries. They want to know about legal rights and how to protect themselves. A common question we get asked is: I hurt my back at work, now what should I do? Keeping ready to find out some answers.
Michigan law guarantees medical treatment to employees who hurt their back at work. This includes emergency room visits, doctor appointments, prescription medication, physical therapy, epidural injections, surgery, mileage reimbursement, attendant care, and even home/vehicle modifications. Employees can pick and choose their own doctor after 28 days from the start of medical care.
Wage loss checks equal to 80% of the after-tax average weekly wage should also be paid. This calculation must include overtime, discontinued fringe benefits, and even income from second jobs. This money is paid for the entire length of disability.
I hurt my back at work now what should I do?
If you hurt your back at work in Michigan make sure to give notice of the injury within 90 days of it occurring. We recommend telling a supervisor or manager immediately so there is no confusion about when or if it occurred.
Employers and insurance companies frequently dispute the so-called Monday morning accident. They always think you got injured over the weekend and now want to get paid under workers’ comp. Ask to fill out an accident report if necessary.
Make a claim for workers’ comp benefits within 2 years. Simply asking your employer for medical treatment and/or lost wages should be enough to satisfy this requirement. It is a good idea to put something in writing like an email or text message and keep it for your records.
Go immediately to the doctor so the incident is documented. Explain to the doctor how you got injured and describe the event that caused it. Giving the correct history to medical professionals can make or break your case. This will ensure the incident is well documented and can be referenced by claims adjusters, attorneys, and the magistrate.
I hurt my back at work and now my claim is denied?
Good luck getting the insurance companies to do the right thing. Our experience shows they pay for a short period of time and then send you to an “independent” medical examination. Insurance company doctors find any excuse to say it is not job-related or that an employee has fully healed. Insurance companies do not want to accept these claims because they know how much money will need to be paid out.
We recommend speaking with an experienced workers’ comp lawyer whenever you hurt your back at work. This is especially true if your doctor believes that disability could be permanent. Many of our clients opt to settle these claims for a lump sum cash payment and give up their jobs. It is also critical that any unfair denials are challenged so that appropriate financial compensation is paid.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.
Related information:workers comp settlement back injury