Michigan lawyer explains workers’ comp payout for loss of finger and general disability.
We believe knowledge is power and it’s the best way to make sure you are compensated correctly for your work injury. Insurance companies frequently make mistakes, and they are never in your favor. Here is what you need to know about Michigan workers’ comp payout for loss of finger.
Wage loss benefits
Employees hurt on-the-job are entitled to wage loss benefits regardless of fault. The amount paid will be based upon 80% of an employee’s after-tax average weekly wage. This is calculated using the highest 39 paid weeks out of the 52 weeks before injury. The value of overtime, discontinued fringe benefits, and even second jobs should be included.
Employees must prove disability to collect wage loss benefits from insurance. This is more than just being unable to perform some aspect of a job. It must be shown that no work is available within qualifications, training, and restrictions that pays maximum wages.
Employees who suffer an amputation of a body part are entitled to specific loss benefits regardless of their employment status. This means a person can be working and still collect wage loss benefits. Watch out for insurance companies who do not recognize there is an automatic Michigan workers’ comp payout for loss of finger.
How much is a finger worth in workers’ comp?
Michigan law has a specific loss schedule for amputation of a finger. Here is how much each finger is worth according to Michigan workers’ comp law:
- Thumb: 65 weeks
- First finger: 38 weeks
- Second finger: 33 weeks
- Third finger: 22 weeks.
- Fourth finger: 16 weeks
Any loss of bone should trigger a Michigan workers’ comp payout for loss of finger. The loss of the first phalange of any finger, shall be equal to the loss of half of that finger, and shall be half of the amount specified above. The loss of more than one phalange should be considered as the loss of the entire finger.
Specific loss is supposed to be paid consecutively and not concurrently. This means that if an employee loses two fingers in a workplace accident, they should receive 38 weeks of wage loss benefits for the first finger and then another 33 weeks of wage loss benefits for the second finger.
Employees who have an amputation can also get additional wage loss benefits if they continue to be disabled after the minimum number of weeks have been paid. Wage loss benefits could be owed under a theory of general disability. This is when a person cannot find any job that is suitable to their qualifications, training, and restrictions.
Do not let the insurance company get away with just a workers’ comp payout for loss of finger in Michigan. Call an experienced work injury lawyer to find out about general disability and continuing payment of wage loss benefits. There is never a fee unless additional money is obtained.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled employees exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.