Michigan lawyer explains how family members can get paid from workers comp for providing attendant care for injured relatives
Today, our workers compensation attorneys want to let you in on a benefit that many people injured at work do not know they’re entitled to: Your employer or its insurance company must pay the cost of a professional nurse or a semiskilled attendant if required. This is a workers comp benefit called attendant care. You will usually need to have a prescription for attendant care written by your doctor.
Attendant care includes activities of daily living. Some examples are wound care, help with mobility, bathing, using the bathroom, eating, dressing, and taking medications.
Family members can get paid up to 56 hours per week for providing attendant care
Your spouse, brother, sister, child, parent or any combination of these persons can receive payment from workers comp. A family member is generally entitled to the same hourly rate as a professional.
Ordinary household tasks are not included but any services that the employer or insurance company would be required to provide should be.
Don’t let the insurance company tell you that the maximum is 56 hours per week for attendant care after an at-work injury
If you need more attendant care than 56 hours per week, the insurance company must pay a professional. The 56 hour maximum only applies to family members.
Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today. Our attorneys will make sure that you are getting all the workers comp benefits – including attendant care if you’re entitled – that you deserve.
– Alex Berman is the founder of the law firm. He’s been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 30 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain attendant care for their work injuries.
Why workers comp won’t pay your wage loss
Do I qualify for workers compensation in Michigan?
– Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by Keith Ramsey.