Michigan work injury lawyer answers the question if workers’ comp wage loss benefits are paid weekly or biweekly and what to do if checks are late or missing.
Many of our clients live paycheck-to-paycheck and getting hurt on-the-job can be a financial disaster. Missing even one paycheck is a big deal when food needs to be put on the table, rent is due, or utilities will be shut off. A question most clients want to know is if workers’ comp wage loss benefits are paid weekly or biweekly in Michigan? Disabled employees are supposed to be paid in weekly installments starting on the 14th day after the employer has notice.
How much does workers’ comp pay in Michigan?
Disabled employees are supposed to receive 80% of their after-tax average weekly wage. This includes overtime, discontinued fringe benefits, and second jobs. The highest 39 paid weeks out of the 52 before the accident will be used. In Michigan, workers’ comp does not pay on a biweekly basis so this amount will be paid in weekly installments.
Does workers’ comp pay weekly or biweekly in Michigan?
In Michigan, workers’ comp does not pay biweekly but on a weekly basis. Wage loss benefits become due and payable on the 14th day after the employer has notice of disability, on which date all compensation then accrued shall be paid. Thereafter, compensation shall be paid in weekly installments. Watch out for employers and insurance companies who unnecessarily delay payments.
When should I expect my first workers’ comp check?
No wage loss benefits shall be paid for a period of at least 1 week, but if disability extends beyond, compensation shall begin on the 8th day after the injury. If disability continues for 2 weeks or longer, compensation shall be paid from the 1st day. Checks should be sent weekly thereafter.
What if my workers’ comp checks are late?
If wage loss benefits are not paid within 30 days after becoming due and there is not an ongoing dispute, $50.00 per day shall be added and paid to the worker for each day over 30 days in which the benefits are not paid. Not more than $1,500.00 in total may be added.
Can I use electronic deposit for workers’ comp?
Electronic delivery is now permitted if a disabled employee gives his or her written consent. Funds must be directly deposited in a financial institution or put on a debit card. Remember workers’ comp wage loss benefits are not paid biweekly so money deposited electronically should be paid weekly. Settlement checks must be sent by U.S. Mail.
What happens if workers’ comp is disputed?
The burden falls on the disabled employee to file for mediation or hearing. It will be up to a magistrate to decide if wage loss benefits should be paid. It can take months or years to resolve a disputed claim. We recommend speaking with a lawyer before filing any documents because mistakes are easy to make.
Injured at on-the-job? Contact our workers’ comp lawyers for a free consultation
If you are injured on the job in Michigan and still have questions on if workers’ comp wage los benefits are paid on a weekly or biweekly basis or have any other questions regarding your work injury claim call us now to speak with one of our experienced attorneys, or fill out our contact form for a free consultation. There is absolutely no cost or obligation. We’re here for you.
Our workers’ comp attorneys have been exclusively helping injured workers in Michigan for more than 35 years. Our attorneys can help you better understand Michigan workers comp laws and what happens after someone has been hurt on the job. To see what our own clients have to say about the caring, compassion, and communication they received from us, you can read in their own words about their experience here on our testimonials page from clients we have helped.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.