How to switch doctors after 28 days and why the cost is the same under the Michigan fee schedule.
Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) has published a fascinating study looking at the effects provider choice has on overall costs. It showed little evidence to support higher costs in states where the worker selects his or her own doctor.
This study contradicts special interest groups who have been trying to take away this valuable legal right for years. It is also an important because choosing a doctor can make or break a workers’ compensation case.
Insurance companies always steer people away from switching doctors. We believe the purpose is to make it easier to control medical costs and work restrictions. Our clients are frequently seen at industrial clinics where they receive subpar medical care. It is not until they see their own doctor that a proper diagnosis and treatment plan is made.
Michigan law allows a worker to select his or her own doctor after 28 days from the start of treatment. All reasonable and necessary medical is covered 100% without co-pays or deductibles. Costs are fixed by a state-wide fee schedule that must be accepted.
We tell our clients to pick the best doctor for their situation and not worry about insurance company costs. The goal should always be a full and speedy recovery. It is also important to have a doctor who will support the claim if benefits are later disputed. Do not count on insurance company doctors who receive most of their income from testifying against injured workers.
Switching doctors is easy and just requires informing the insurance company. Do this by providing the name and address of the new doctor. Contact an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer if medical benefits are denied.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by jasleen_kaur.