Work injury lawyer explains various hearing types and what a person can expect at a workers’ comp hearing in Michigan.
Insurance companies frequently dispute workers’ comp benefits. They look for any excuse to say an employee is not disabled or that it did not happen at work. Should this occur, it becomes necessary to file a workers’ comp case. Our experience shows that understanding the process is the best way to relieve stress. Here is what to expect at a workers’ comp hearing in Michigan.
Pre-trial: A claimant should receive notice of pre-trial approximately 45 days after filing a workers’ comp case. The magistrate will not take any formal action and will set a new hearing date about 60 days later. It is not necessary to attend pre-trial if represented by a lawyer.
Mediation: Sometimes a case will be set for a telephone mediation instead of pre-trial. This usually occurs when the issues appear to involve only medical or a small amount of money. You can expect the workers’ comp mediation hearing to be an informal process where an agency representative will attempt to bring the parties together in the hopes of resolving their differences.
Control Date: Control dates are very important because it gives both sides the opportunity to discuss potential legal issues. It also gives the parties a chance to talk about possible resolutions. You can expect these workers’ comp hearings to happen every 60-90 days and several will be needed before a trial date is selected. The magistrate will also want to know that records are being exchanged and the case is moving forward.
Facilitation: Most cases go through facilitation before they are set for trial. Facilitation gives both sides the opportunity to informally present their arguments to a neutral magistrate. At a workers’ comp facilitation hearing you can expect the magistrate to attempt to come up with a settlement amount based upon the facts and medical evaluation. Neither side must accept the recommendation, but it is helpful to get the parties talking about resolution.
Trial: Trial is a formal hearing with a magistrate who will hear evidence and decide the workers’ comp case. You can expect at a workers’ comp trial hearing that a witness testimony will be taken under oath, and that it will always be electronically recorded. Other evidence submitted includes medical records and deposition testimony from experts. Trial can last anywhere from a few hours to several days.
Redemption: All settlements must be approved by a magistrate. They will be given a brief explanation as to why the workers’ comp case is being settled and will review medical evidence. At the redemption hearing, the magistrate will determine if the settlement is just and proper under the circumstances. There is a 15-day appeal period that must run before settlement checks are mailed. It is possible to waive the appeal period if all the parties agree and the Agency gives its approval.
Need help? Contact our Michigan workman’s comp lawyers for a free consultation
If you still have questions on what to expect at a workers’ comp hearing or if you want to speak with an experienced workman’s comp attorney about your Michigan work injury claim, call us now, or fill out our contact form for a free consultation. There is absolutely no cost or obligation. We’re here for you.
Our attorneys have been exclusively helping injured workers in Michigan for more than 35 years and can help you better understand Michigan workman’s comp laws and explain what happens if you or a loved one has been hurt on the job. To see what our own clients have to say about the caring, compassion, and communication they received from us, you can read in their own words about their experience here on our testimonials page from clients we have helped.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.