The 2013 Pay Lag Report and when you can expect your first workers comp check in Michigan.
Workers comp is a safety net for people who are hurt on-the-job. It provides regular income for injured employees and their families.
Even one missing check could be financially devastating if a person lives paycheck to paycheck. Here is what you need to know about your first workers comp check.
Wage loss benefits under workers comp are not typically paid during the first week of disability. Most employers require a person to use vacation or sick time.
Entitlement begins on the 8th day and should continue until disability ends. However, aÂ person can collect wage loss benefits going back to the first day if they are off work for 14 or more consecutive days.
Checks are not typically considered late by the Agency until 30 days past due. Our experience shows that poor claims handling and unresponsive employers are the primary reasons why checks go missing.
2013 Pay Lag Report
The Pay Lag Report gives real-world data about when certain insurance companies start payment. The current average is 3 days longer than the time period required by law (14 days). You can read the full report here.
LateÂ checks are a warning sign that your claim is going to be disputed. Watch out for insurance adjusters who insist on getting an independent medical examination (IME) before starting weekly checks.
We recommend contacting an attorney before your claim is disputed. It is possible to resolve minor issues before they turn into major problems.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate or review a case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by kla4067.