Insurance coverage for work accidents

How to find out if your employer has workers comp insurance in Michigan.

It’s always a shame when an employer fails to obtain workers comp insurance. This is usually a cost saving measure that ends up back firing. It also means that an employer is responsible for workers comp benefits directly out of their pocket.

All private employers who have at least 1 employee for 35 hours or more per week must have workers comp insurance. It is not very expensive and it protects both parties in the event of a work accident.

Medical treatment, lost wages, and vocational rehabilitation are all covered under workers comp insurance. Employers must pay these benefits regardless of fault.

How to check if your employer has workers comp coverage

The State of Michigan offers a great web tool to check if your employer has workers comp insurance. We have provided a link and screenshot below.

Current Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage Lookup

No insurance coverage found

Owners, directors, and officers of the company can be personally liable for payment. We have successful recovered from employers who do not have workers comp insurance.

To speak with one of our work accident lawyers in Michigan, call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation. We can protect your workers comp rights and hold your employer accountable.

Alex Berman is the founder of Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers. He’s been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers comp benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate a case.

Related information:

WCA – Current Workers’ Compensation Insurance Coverage Lookup

Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.