Top 3 questions regarding wage loss benefits in Michigan.
Question #1: How much does workers’ compensation pay?
The amount paid under workers’ comp is generally 80% of your after-tax average weekly wage. Select the highest 39 paid weeks in the last 52 and add these amounts together. Divide this total number by 39 to get your average weekly wage. Plug the average weekly wage into tables published by the State of Michigan and this will show your weekly comp rate.
Question #2: When should I receive my first check?
You must be disabled for at least 1 week before lost wages are owed. A week is 7 consecutive days and includes weekends. Missing 2 weeks or more will result in payment from the first day. You should expect your first check approximately 1 week after payment is due.
Question #3: Why is a job search necessary?
Insurance companies are permitted to reduce weekly checks based upon wage earning capacity. Think of wage earning capacity as your ability find other jobs with your injury. Doing a good-faith job search proves that no other employer will hire you with restrictions.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers’ Compensation Law
Photos courtesy of Creative Commons, by Images_of_Money.