Answers to some of the most frequent workers’ comp questions asked in 2015.
We wanted to revisit some of the most common questions and answers in 2015. Here is our list of the top 5 questions that our clients want to know. Please contact our office for a free consultation and we can answer specific questions about your individual situation.
1. What does workers’ comp actually pay?
You should receive 80% of the after-tax value of your average weekly wage. This equals approximately 60% of your gross pay. Checks are sent on a weekly basis. The maximum amount for 2015 is $820.00 per week.
2. When can I expect my first check?
No payments are owed for the first 7 days. Employees are typically required to use sick time or vacation pay. Benefits start on day 8 and should be paid within 14 days of coming due. According to the Pay Lag Report, it took on average 17 days to receive payment.
3. Can I select my own doctor?
You can select your own doctor after 28 days from the start of medical care. All reasonable and necessary medical should be covered. Notify the insurance company by sending a letter with the name and address of your new doctor. Be careful treating with doctors selected by the insurance company because of a potential conflict of interest. You need a doctor on your side if the claim is ever disputed.
4. What happens if my claim is disputed?
Many people find themselves struggling for answers when their workers’ comp claim is denied. Insurance companies use the same doctors over and over again to dispute benefits. Some employers even refuse to make a claim in the first place. We recommend you challenge an unfair decision in court. These cases are handled on contingency so no fee is charged unless you are successful with your claim.
5. Can I settle a workers’ comp claim?
You can trade the value of future wage loss and medical for a lump sum cash payment. This allows you to do your own medical and vocational rehabilitation without interference from the insurance company. Many people want to settle and just move with their lives.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by Horia Varlan.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers