No lost wages for 7 days? What about paid sick time?

Mandatory paid sick time law would give employees who do not qualify for workers’ compensation some relief.

We saw an interesting article in the Detroit Free Press concerning a new ballot proposal that would create mandatory paid sick time. The Board of State Canvassers has approved language submitted by Raise Michigan to create the Earned Sick Time Act. The group must collect 250,000 signatures within 180 days to get it placed on the November 2018 ballot.

Under the proposal, employees would earn 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours of work. Small businesses would have to provide a maximum of 40 hours of sick time each year. Large businesses would be required to provide a maximum of 72 hours.

Paid sick time is not an option for many employees in Michigan. This can be difficult for individuals living paycheck to paycheck. Missing just a few days of work can be devastating to the family budgets.

Mandatory paid sick time would also help people hurt on-the-job. An employee must be disabled for at least 1 week before any lost wages are paid under workers’ compensation. A week is 7 consecutive days and includes weekends. Paid sick time could help fill in this gap.

Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.

Related information:

How long until I get my workers’ comp check?

Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by comedy_nose.

Tags: ,
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.