Items you should seek reimbursement for and how to recoup medical expenses under workers’ compensation in Michigan.
We have seen individuals rack up hundreds of thousands in medical expenses. These medical costs should be paid under workers’ compensation with no co-pays or deductibles. Problems occur when the insurance company disputes all or part of a claim.
A Harvard University study in 2011 found that medical bills were the cause of 62.1% of bankruptcies. We do not want this to happen to you! Here are some tips and tricks that you can use to recoup medical expenses under workers’ compensation in Michigan.
Unpaid Medical Bills
All reasonable and necessary medical should be paid under workers’ compensation. This includes surgical and hospital services, nursing care, physical therapy, and prescription medications. Dental care, artificial limbs, eyeglasses, hearing aids, wheelchairs and other appliances necessary to cure or relieve the effects of a work injury should also be covered. Insurance company disputes must be challenged in court and the magistrate will ultimately decide what needs to be paid.
Co-Pays / Deductibles / Out-of-Pocket
Sometimes individuals pay cash or use private health insurance. While a magistrate cannot order reimbursement for all of these items, amounts can be recovered through a workers’ compensation settlement. We suggest keeping a running total on a piece of paper and regularly providing to your attorney. This information can be used to increase settlement value of your case.
A family member can be paid up to 56 hours per week at market rates for helping with activities of daily living. This includes using the bathroom, bathing, getting dressed, preparing meals, taking medications, wound care, and even observation while a person sleeps. A spouse, brother, sister, child, parent or any combination of these individuals can receive payment from workers’ compensation. You must keep a record of hours worked and services performed. Good record keeping is the best way to ensure payment.
Claimants are entitled to mileage reimbursement every time they go to a doctor or medical appointment. We tell our clients to send mileage requests directly to the insurance company by certified mail. This ensures proof of delivery and allows a person to seek penalties if not paid within 30 days of becoming due.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by tetracarbon.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers