Agency releases 2018 Weekly Benefit Tables and how to double check your Michigan workers’ compensation rate.
The Michigan Workers’ Compensation Agency has released its 2018 Weekly Benefit Tables. This data can be used to calculate how much a person should be paid under workers’ compensation.
Here are some instructions on using the 2018 Weekly Benefits Tables so you can double check your workers’ compensation rate. Our experience shows that insurance companies frequently make mistakes and they are never in your favor.
Please remember that your weekly compensation rate is limited by a state-wide maximum and it has not yet been announced for 2018. Check back later and we will update this information.
Start with the date you were hurt and find the last 52 weekly pay stubs. Put them in order from highest gross amount to lowest gross amount. Add up the highest 39 paid weeks including overtime, bonuses, and premium pay. Divide this total number by 39 to calculate your average weekly wage.
Plug your average weekly wage into tables provided by the State of Michigan. You must know tax filing status and number of claimed dependents. This will give you a weekly workers’ compensation rate.
Watch out for insurance companies who estimate wages or use the wrong dates. We have seen individuals paid much less than required because the insurance company did not obtain records from the employer.
It is a good idea to double check insurance company math to avoid future problems. There is a 1 year back rule that limits recover of underpayments.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.
Related information:Michigan workers comp lawyers