Top 5 workers’ comp questions (2017 Edition)

We provide answers to some of the most frequently asked workers’ comp questions in 2017.

Today is December 14, 2017 and the calendar year is quickly coming to an end. We wanted to provide answers to some of the most frequent workers’ comp questions in 2017. Please contact our office for a free telephone consultation if you have questions about your own individual situation.

1. How much does it pay?

Michigan law requires payment of wage loss benefits if a person hurt on-the-job cannot work. The weekly amount is generally 80% of the after-tax average weekly wage. This is roughly 60% of gross pay. Insurance companies can further reduce weekly benefits if it is found that a person has a post-injury wage earning capacity (PIWEC).

2. Why do I need to look for another job?

Michigan law has a job search requirement. Insurance companies game the system by unfairly reducing weekly benefits based upon “phantom wages.” Performing a good-faith job search satisfies your legal requirement and serves as evidence that no alternate jobs within qualifications and training exist.

3. When can I choose my own doctor?

You can select a doctor after 28 days from the start of medical care. All reasonable, necessary, and related treatment will be covered. No co-pays or deductibles should be charged. You are required to notify the insurance company of this decision and provide contact information. It is also expected that you send updated medical records.

4. How long does a case usually take?

Data provided by the Agency shows it can take over 12 months to resolve a workers’ comp case. Appeals can take several years. Every case is different and an experienced workers’ comp attorney will be able to give you a better idea of timing and help move the case towards finality.

5. How much can I expect for settlement?

Most of our clients want to settle and move on with their lives. Some are receiving benefits voluntarily while others have disputed claims. Trading workers’ comp benefits for a lump sum cash payment is a popular option. This allows a person to do his or her own medical treatment and vocational rehabilitation without involving the insurance company/employer. The amount of settlement will depend upon length of disability, rate of pay, and medical costs. Attorney fees are as little as 10% of the settlement if benefits are currently being provided. Attorney fees increase to 15% of the first $25,000 and 10% on the reminder of any other settlement.

Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.

Related information:

How long will this case take? Two weeks!

Photos courtesy of Creative Commons, by Valerie Everett.

Tags:
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.