Use our pop quiz to double check you are getting all the workers’ compensation benefits possible under Michigan law.
Children around the State of Michigan are getting ready for the 2019-2020 school year. Here is our pop quiz to see if you are getting all required workers’ compensation benefits. Decide which statements are true or false. Answers will be provided at the end.
True or False?
Q1. Notice must be given by end of shift.
Q2. Late claims are not allowed.
Q3. Employees cannot fight a dispute in court.
Q4. Medical treatment begins immediately.
Q5. A person cannot select his or her own doctor.
Q6. Family members can be paid for providing attendant care services.
Q7. Employees should be paid for mileage.
Q8. Wage loss benefits should be paid after 7 days.
Q9. 100% of lost wages will be paid.
Q10. A job search is not required.
A1. (FALSE) Employees hurt on the job have 90 days to report injury. Notice can be oral so if you told a supervisor or manager that should be enough. Time limits created by employers are NOT binding.
A2. (FALSE) Employees have 2 years to make a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. There is not statute of limitations and making a claim within the required time frame protects legal rights. Making a claim is as simple asking for medical treatment or time off.
A3. (FALSE) Employees who are denied workers’ compensation can file an application for mediation or hearing. A magistrate will determine whether benefits should be paid. Most of these cases ultimately result in a cash settlement.
A4. (TRUE) Medical treatment should begin immediately. There are no co-pays or deductibles that are personally owed.
A5. (FALSE) Employees are permitted to select their own doctor after 28 days. Watch out for insurance companies who insist this is not allowed. They want to control medical costs and restrictions.
A6. (TRUE) Family members can be paid up to 56 hours at market rates for providing attendant care benefits. This is to help with activities of daily living. Help getting dressed and using the bathroom are types of covered services.
A7. (TRUE) Employees should be reimbursed for mileage going to and coming from all medical appointments. The reimbursement rate is $0.58 starting January 1, 2019. Food and lodging are also available when far travel is required.
A8. (TRUE) Employees must be disabled for at least 1 week before wage loss benefits start. Missing 2 weeks or more will result in payment from the first lost day.
A9. (FALSE) The amount paid should equal 80% of the after-tax average weekly wage. This is based upon the highest 39 paid weeks before getting hurt.
A10. (FALSE) Michigan law was radically changed in 2011. Insurance companies are now permitted to use “wage earning capacity” to reduce or stop payment. A job search is required to prove a case.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.
Related information:Michigan workers comp lawyers