Michigan Mileage Reimbursement Rate 2020 Announced

Michigan Mileage Reimbursement Rate 2020 Announced

Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency updates Michigan mileage reimbursement rate for injured employees effective January 1, 2020.

Mileage and travel expenses should be reimbursed under workers’ comp. This is a hidden benefit that insurance companies do not always tell people about.

The Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency has now updated its travel reimbursement rate for injured employees. The Michigan mileage reimbursement rate for 2020 is $0.575.

Calculating the workers’ comp mileage reimbursement is easy. Keep track of all visits to and from medical appointments by writing them down on a piece of paper. Make sure to include the date, location, and round-trip miles. Add up the total and multiple by the Michigan mileage reimbursement rate for 2020 (0.575).

Travel expenses for meals and lodging should also be covered. This is paid when an injured worker must travel a long distance for medical care. Current meal rates for select cities (All of Wayne County, All of Oakland County, Ann Arbor, Auburn Hills, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Holland, Leland, Mackinac Island, Petoskey, Pontiac, South Haven, Traverse City) include $10.25 for breakfast, $10.25 for lunch, and $24.25 for dinner. Meal rates for all other cities include $8.50 for breakfast, $8.50 for lunch, and $19.00 for dinner. Reimbursement for lodging is $85.00 plus taxes each night.

We tell our clients to send workers’ comp mileage reimbursement directly to the insurance company by certified mail return receipt requested. This ensures proof of delivery and penalties can be sought if not paid within 30 days of becoming due.

Sometimes insurance companies fail to pay workers’ comp mileage reimbursement or other travel expenses. This creates an absurd situation where medical treatment is authorized, but the injured worker cannot afford to get to his or her appointments. Contact an experienced workers’ comp lawyer if mileage or other travel expenses have not been paid.

Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.

Related information:

How Much Are Workers’ Comp Lawyer Fees?

The Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency has now updated its travel reimbursement rate for injured employees. Go to our blog to find out what the new rates are workerscomplawyerhelp.com/blog/. We supply free consultations for Workers Comp cases.
Tags: ,
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation