Michigan lawyer discusses how often do workers’ comp checks come and a reminder about insurance company math.
Our experience shows that insurance companies make errors and they are never in our clients’ favor. Here is what every claimant should know about how often do workers’ comp checks come and how much is supposed to be paid. Please remember that every situation is different so discuss with a lawyer if weekly checks are not promptly received or the amount seems incorrect.
Getting hurt on-the-job can turn a person’s life upside down. This is especially true for those individuals who live paycheck to paycheck. How often do workers’ comp checks come is an important question. Supporting a family on workers’ comp is tough and missing even one paycheck can result in financial disaster. Benefits are supposed to be paid for the entire length of disability.
Workers’ comp is a safety net that is supposed to pay claimants on a weekly basis. This is done with a paper check through regular mail. It is possible to arrange for direct deposit, but written consent must be given. Funds are required to be directly deposited in a financial institution or put on a debit card. All settlements must be paid through a paper check under Michigan law.
How often do workers’ comp checks come? A claimant must be off work for at least 7 days to qualify for wage loss benefits. He or she can expect payment approximately 2 weeks from the start of entitlement. Payments are generally not considered late until 30 days past due. It is possible to seek penalties of $50 per day up to a maximum of $1,500 for a late check. Watch out for missing or late checks as this is a red flag that workers’ comp benefits are disputed.
Double check insurance company math
Disabled employees are supposed to receive 80% of their after-tax average weekly wage subject to a state-wide maximum. This is based upon the highest 39 paid weeks during the 52 weeks before getting hurt. Overtime, discontinued fringe benefits, and even second jobs should be included. Amounts paid under workers’ comp are income tax free.
Watch out for insurance companies who simply estimate the weekly rate based upon number of hours worked and/or pay. This error can result in much less being paid. We have seen disabled employees get hundreds of dollars less per week than what is required under Michigan law. Actual wage records from the employer should be used. It is important to make sure the weekly check amount is correct because this could impact future settlement value.
Insurance companies also use vocational counselors to say a disabled employee has a post-injury wage earning capacity to reduce weekly checks. This is based upon “phantom wages” from jobs that might not even exist. It is important to speak with a workers’ comp lawyer if this should occur. Do not let the insurance company save money at your expense!
Our law firm never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.