Workers comp lawyer advice: Don’t wait to tell your employer about an at-work injury!

Important time limits for workers compensation claims in Michigan

As a workers compensation lawyer, people are always asking me if they can get workers comp benefits for a work injury that happened months or even years ago. Many of these individuals have been working in pain and without proper medical care.

The most important advice I can give you is this: Don’t wait to tell your employer about an injury at work, because you could lose out on substantial workers comp benefits.

You must give notice of your personal injury

If you suffer an injury at work, you must notify your employer within 90 days. This can be done by simply telling your supervisor or a manager that you hurt yourself at work.

Notice does not have to be in writing, but it is a good idea to ask to fill out a company accident report form. If your employer does not have a company accident report form, make one yourself. Explain how and when the injury occurred. Give the accident report to your employer and keep a copy for your records.

An experienced workers comp lawyer can help guide you through this process.  There is no charge to speak with a lawyer so make sure that your rights are protected.

You must also make a claim for workers comp benefits

Claim must be made within two years of the work injury. All you have to do is ask your employer for workers comp benefits. Claim does not even have to be in writing but it is a good idea to send a letter to your employer asking for wage loss and/or medical treatment.

What if your workers comp benefits are denied or stopped

If your workers comp benefits have been denied or stopped, you should challenge the decision by filing a formal workers comp case against your employer and its insurance carrier.

You can get workers comp benefits going back two years from the date you filed your case and into the future. If you have received workers comp benefits in the past, you may be limited to one year back from when you file.

Don’t be afraid to ask your employer for workers comp benefits

You cannot be fired for asking for workers comp benefits. If you have given notice and claim, you can get workers comp benefits even years after an injury on the job.

To speak with one of our workers comp lawyers, call (855) 221-2667 for a free consultation. We can help you get all the benefits that you are entitled to under the law.

Alex Berman is the founder of the law firm. He’s been representing injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 30 years. Alex has helped countless people obtain workers’ compensation benefits and never charges a fee to evaluate your case.

Related Information:

Workers compensation benefits been denied or terminated?

Workers Comp 101: Know what to expect when your case is filed

Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by Tijs Zwinkels.

02/01/2011
Injured On The Job: A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Injured On
The Job
A Guide to Michigan Workers Compensation Law Free Book
Free Consultation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.