Michigan Workers’ Comp Lawyers
Workmans comp fighting for the rights of injured employees for more than 35 years
Being injured on the job can turn your life upside down, especially when your workers comp benefits are denied or your adjuster is playing games — yet you cannot return to work due to your serious injuries. Our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers can help.
We’re here to make sure you receive all the workers compensation benefits that you’re entitled to, and to protect you when your insurance company or your employer treats you unfairly.
Find out how much your workers’ comp settlement amount will be.
Call us at (855) 221-2667, or fill out our free contact form. Our attorneys only practice workers compensation law in Michigan. We offer free advice, and you don’t pay a dime unless you win.
Michigan workers compensation law: What you must know to protect yourself
We believe that every injured or disabled worker deserves to know their legal rights, so they can be on equal footing with the insurance companies and employers. If you’ve been injured on the job and are concerned about your future and how you can recover your benefits, you need to know about:
- Your employer’s legal responsibilities under the Michigan workers comp law.
- The work comp benefits you’re entitled to, such as lost wages, medical care and vocational rehabilitation.
- Important time limits to file a claim in Michigan.
Why you may need a Michigan workers’ comp lawyer now
People often have concerns about hiring a workers comp attorney. They wonder how much it costs, what the process is like and how much Michigan workers compensation actually pays. Here, you can learn about:
- What a workers comp lawyer can do for you and when to seek help.
- What to expect throughout your lawsuit.
- The cost and value of your case.
Our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers provide answers to FAQs
If you’ve been injured at work, you are certain to have a long list of questions about what to do next and what to expect from the litigation process. We’ve covered a few of our frequently asked questions (FAQ) below.
What is considered a workers’ compensation injury?
Getting hurt on-the-job can be stressful if it results in missed time and/or medical bills. Any injury or disease caused by employment is supposed to be covered under workers’ compensation insurance. The most common injuries happen as a result of a traumatic event at work. Dropping an item on your foot is a good example. Occupational diseases that develop over time from work activities should also be covered. This includes carpal tunnel syndrome, asthma, and hearing loss.
What is a workers’ compensation claim?
Employees who cannot work because of an accident or illness can make a workers’ compensation claim. Available benefits include payment for lost wages, medical treatment, and vocational rehabilitation. Only employees who are suffering from a work-related condition qualify to make a workers’ compensation claim. Employers can dispute benefits at any time. Disputes typically occur after the independent medical examination (IME) has been completed. The burden is on the employee to file an Application for Mediation or Hearing to challenge the dispute.
How to file a workers’ compensation claim in Michigan?
Filing a claim in Michigan involves two important steps. First, notice must be given to the employer within 90 days of the injury. Notice can be oral so just telling a supervisor or manager is enough. Second, a claim must be made within 2 years. Claim can also be oral so asking for paid time off or medical treatment is sufficient. Employees who provide notice and claim have protected their legal rights and can seek workers’ compensation benefits anytime in the future. There is a 1 and 2 year back rule for old claims that limits how much can be recovered in the past. Watch out for employers who refuse to accept workers’ compensation claims and make sure to get one of our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers involved right away.
What are workers’ compensation benefits?
Employees hurt on-the-job are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. This includes payment for lost wages equal to 80% of an employee’s after-tax average weekly wage. Lost wages should be paid while an employee is disabled. Medical treatment should also be covered. Attendant care is when family members get paid up to 56 hours each week for helping with activities of daily living. Mileage to and from doctor appointments should be covered. Even vehicle and home modifications should be paid when appropriate. Vocational rehabilitation is available to help transition to a new career.
Do I need a lawyer for a workers’ compensation claim?
Insurance companies have lawyers on staff who review claims even before they are disputed. Insurance companies use private investigators and defense medical examiners to play dirty. They are looking for any excuse to stop workers’ compensation benefits. It is always recommended that you have a lawyer on your side to level the playing field. There is no fee to meet or discuss a claim with our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers. Find out about hidden dangers before they jeopardize payment of medical or wage loss benefits.
When to hire a lawyer?
It is critical to hire a workers’ comp lawyer right away. Understanding legal rights is the best way to protect yourself and maximize settlement value. Our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers can ensure the correct amount of wage loss is being paid and expose potential legal issues. There is never a charge to evaluate a case and fees are only paid if additional money is obtained.
How much do Michigan workers’ comp lawyers cost?
Michigan workers’ comp lawyers only charge a small percentage of any settlement. Individuals who are receiving workers’ comp benefits pay just 15% of the total settlement obtained. Individuals who have a disputed claim pay 20% of the first $100,000 and 15% on the remainder of any settlement. Individuals who have their claim voluntarily paid or win a trial can pay up to 30% of past due benefits. The cost of Michigan workers’ comp lawyers fees are typically made up by higher settlement amounts.
How to choose a lawyer?
We recommend choosing a lawyer with many years of experience. Ask what percentage of their cases involve workers’ comp law and what results should be expected. Watch out for lawyers who dabble in the field because inexperience can lead to critical mistakes. Ask what the strategy will be going forward and if see if it aligns with individual goals. Make sure you have a good rapport with any lawyer and feel comfortable discussing problems. Experienced Michigan workers’ comp lawyers will be happy to discuss his or her qualifications and provide a free consultation.
What happens if my workers’ compensation claim is denied?
Insurance companies want to deny claims because it saves them money. Employees who find their workers’ compensation benefits denied should file an Application for Mediation or Hearing. This will start a formal court process where a magistrate will decide if additional workers’ compensation benefits should be paid. Medical evidence from your doctor can be used to prove entitlement. We think it is a good idea to challenge any unfair denial, so legal rights are fully protected. Many denied claims are eventually settled for a lump sum cash payment.
Get help from our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers today
You’re not alone. Call (855) 221-2667, toll-free, to speak with one of our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers today.
The call and the advice are absolutely free.
Our Michigan workers’ comp lawyers have been called the best in the state, and we pride ourselves on providing you with care, trust and responsiveness. We will take all of the time you need; we will explain your legal rights; and you will always be treated with respect.