Attorney fees and reasonable expenses under Michigan workers’ compensation law.
Michigan law allows attorneys to handle workers’ compensation cases on contingency. This means no fee is charged unless a settlement is recovered. This is called a no win no fee case.
Attorney fees on settlement are capped at 15% of the first $25,000 and 10% on the remainder. A flat 10% fee will be charged if benefits are being paid voluntarily and no application for hearing has been filed.
Attorneys also advance litigation costs and recoup this money out of any settlement. This is very important because it can cost thousands of dollars to prepare a case for trial. Most people cannot afford to pursue a case on their own.
Rule 408.44(5) governs litigation costs and include the following:
(a) Medical examination fee and witness fee.
(b) Any other medical witness fee, including the cost of a subpoena.
(c) The cost of a court report service.
(d) Appeal costs.
Settlements must be approved by a magistrate at a redemption hearing. Itemization of attorney fees and costs must be provided. Telephone calls, copying fees, postage, and travel are typically not allowed. Hiring a vocational expert is an approved expense.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.
Photo courtesy of Creative Commons, by Got Credit.Tags: Michigan workers comp lawyers