Understanding contingency agreements and the maximum Michigan workers’ comp lawyer fees that can be charged.
It is no secret that large corporations and insurance companies can afford to hire lawyers who specialize in workers’ comp cases. They charge hourly rates and quickly run up legal bills in the thousands of dollars. Reducing or eliminating the payment of work injury benefits is their goal and it is done at your expense. Many disabled employees do not even realize a defense lawyer has been hired to review a claim until after a Notice of Dispute has been received in the mail.
Most disabled employees cannot afford to pay a lawyer on an hourly basis. This is especially true when they are just trying to pay rent and put food on the table. Michigan law recognizes this unfairness and allows a workers’ comp lawyer to be hired on contingency. This means no Michigan workers’ comp lawyer fees will be charged unless additional benefits are obtained. These are called no win no fee cases.
A lawyer who takes a matter on contingency will also typically advance court costs and litigation expenses. This is very important because it can cost thousands of dollars to prepare a case for trial with a magistrate. Medical records must be ordered and get billed at .45 per page under Agency rules. Doctors charge between $500 and $2,500 per hour for their deposition testimony. Vocational experts charge up to $1,500 for a written report and their testimony. Court reporters typically charge between $250 to $500 for each witness who is deposed. It is impossible to win at trial unless these expenses are paid first. Appeals cost even more money and will be a near certainty should the employer/insurance company lose at trial.
How much are workers’ comp lawyer fees?
In Michigan if benefits are disputed, the workers’ comp lawyer fees are 20% of the first $100,000 and 15% on what’s left of any settlement. If benefits are currently being paid, the lawyer fees are only 15% of the settlement.
If benefits are disputed and then later paid voluntarily, the Michigan workers’ comp lawyer fees are 30% of what is obtained. The lawyer fees will also be 30% of past-due benefits if the case is successful at trial. It is possible to win attorney fees for medical bills under specific circumstances.
No win no fee lawyers
There are no lawyer fees if a disabled employee fails to recover additional benefits or a settlement. Do not let the fear of cost prevent you from hiring a great workers’ comp lawyer. Level the playing field and protect your legal rights. The initial consultation is always free. Lawyer fees are easily paid off by larger settlement amounts when then insurance company knows they can lose at trial.
Need help with your claim? Our attorneys can help!
If you suffered an injury on the job in Michigan and need help with your work injury claim and have questions about settlement options, call now speak with an experienced attorney, or fill out our contact form for a free consultation. There is absolutely no cost or obligation. We’re here for you.
Our attorneys have been exclusively helping injured workers in Michigan for more than 35 years. Our attorneys can help you better understand Michigan laws and what happens after someone has been hurt on the job. To see what our own clients have to say about the caring, compassion, and communication they received from us, you can read in their own words about their experience here on our testimonials page from clients we have helped.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.