Michigan workers’ comp lawyer discusses slip and fall accidents that happen on-the-job.
Our attorneys have seen all types of workplace accidents over decades of practice. The most common in Michigan by far involve slip and fall accidents at work. These workers’ comp claims are so frequent in the wintertime that insurance companies even put out advanced notices to employers. Here is what everyone should know about their legal rights after being injured by this type of accident on the job.
What happens if I slip and fall at work in Michigan?
Employees in Michigan who happen to slip and fall at work should be covered under workers’ comp. It does not matter who was at fault provided the accident happened in the course and scope of employment. This includes off hours while on the employer’s premises. Even people who are clumsy will still qualify for workers’ comp benefits.
Medical bills should be covered 100% without any copayments or deductibles being charged to the employee. This includes ambulance runs, ER visits, doctor appointments, medication, physical therapy, and surgery.
Wage loss benefits should be paid for any period of disability when a person is unable to work. This is based upon the highest 39 paid weeks out of the 52 weeks before the injury occurred. Weekly checks equal to 80% of an employee’s after-tax average weekly wage should be paid.
Can you sue if you are injured by this type of accident on the job?
Employees in Michigan who are involved in a slip and fall accident at work cannot sue their employer directly. Workers’ comp is the exclusive remedy for on-the-job accidents. This means medical and wage loss is covered but other damages are not allowed. A lawsuit can be filed if the employer does not have workers’ comp insurance.
Employees who are hurt from this type of accident can sue a negligent third-party. This money would be in addition to anything paid under workers’ comp. These lawsuits are typically against the people responsible for maintaining safe parking lots and sidewalks.
What to do if you slip and fall at work in Michigan?
Employees in Michigan who are involved in a slip and fall accident at work should give notice right away. This is to protect legal rights should workers’ comp be necessary. Employees technically have 90 days to give notice and 2 years to make a claim. However, experience shows that benefits are disputed when notice is not given immediately.
Watch out for insurance companies who refuse to pay workers’ comp benefits. Common excuses include the fall and injury did not occur during business hours or was not on the employer’s premises. Both situations are covered under specific circumstances. For example, employees who are hurt from a slip and fall walking from a designated parking area should be covered. Call an experienced workers’ comp lawyer should benefits get denied.
Need help? Contact our workers’ comp lawyers for a free consultation
If you are an employee who was injured in a slip and fall accident at work, call us now to speak with an experienced attorney about your Michigan workers’ comp claim, or fill out our contact form for a free consultation. There is absolutely no cost or obligation. We’re here for you.
Our attorneys have been exclusively helping injured workers and family members who have lost a loved one on the job in Michigan for more than 35 years and can help you better understand Michigan workers’ comp laws and explain what happens if you or a loved one has been hurt on the job. To see what our own clients have to say about the caring, compassion, and communication they received from us, you can read in their own words about their experience here on our testimonials page from clients we have helped.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.