Michigan workers’ comp lawyer answers some of the most common questions about checks that disabled employees should know.
Getting hurt on-the-job can turn a person’s life upside down. We understand the stress and worry that comes after a workplace accident. Many of the individuals who call our office have no idea about their legal rights. Insurance companies take advantage and play games with workers’ comp benefits. Nothing makes us angrier than when insurance companies abuse good people.
Workers’ comp is supposed to protect employees who are disabled. It does not matter who was at fault for the workplace accident. Guaranteed benefits include payment of wage loss benefits. Here are answers to some of the most common questions about checks that disabled employees should know.
When does workers’ comp start paying?
Disabled employees must wait for 7 consecutive days before they are entitled to lost wage benefits. The amount paid should equal 80% of their after-tax average weekly wage. This should include overtime, second jobs, and discontinued fringe benefits. Wage loss checks should be sent out by the insurance company approximately 1 week after entitlement begins. According to statistics published by the Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency in its 2018 Pay Lag Report, insurance companies take on average 18 days to commence payment.
How often do my workers’ comp checks come?
Payment of wage loss benefits should be made on a weekly basis. Our experience shows that some insurance companies mail checks every other week or sporadically. Disabled employees often “fall off” the computer system and weekly checks suddenly get delayed or stop entirely. It is important to speak with an experienced workers’ comp lawyer should this occur.
Are workers’ comp checks mailed?
Michigan law requires wage loss benefits to be sent via mail. We have seen lump sum settlement checks worth hundreds of thousands of dollars just put into a mailbox. Arrangements can be made if mail service is not reliable at a specific address.
Where can I cash a workers’ comp check?
Any bank where the disabled employee has an established account should be able to cash a workers’ comp check. Individuals who do not have a bank account can also go to the issuing bank or use a check cashing business. Watch out for high fees when using a check cashing business and shop around for the best deal.
Can I get my workers’ comp check direct deposit?
Electronic delivery is now permitted if a disabled employee gives his or her written consent. Funds must be directly deposited in a financial institution or put on a debit card. We do not recommend electronic delivery because it can be more difficult to resolve minor issues.
Are taxes taken out of workers’ comp checks?
Workers’ comp benefits are income tax free. This means no federal or state deductions will be taken out of weekly checks.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 316-8033 for a free consultation today.