Work injury lawyer explains how to get workers’ comp after a burn injury at work in Michigan.
Getting hurt on-the-job is stressful! Many of the people who call our office have no idea how to get workers’ comp benefits started. The good news is that notice to an employer must be within 90 days and a person has 2 years to make a claim. Both notice and claim can be oral so just telling your boss at the time it happens is enough. This basic information can be used to stop employers from taking advantage and refusing to make a workers’ comp claim with their insurance company. It is very common for employees who suffer burns to be told that medical treatment or time off will not be covered. Here is some information that you should know about if you suffered a burn injury at work in Michigan.
How does an injury like this occur on-the-job?
A burn injury at work can happen from exposure to heat, chemicals, sunlight, electricity, or radiation. Skin tissue gets damaged and can result in pain, redness, swelling, blisters, peeling skin, scars, and possibly infection. First degree burns are relatively minor and usually treated at home. Second degree burns are more serious and should be watched closely for complications. Third-degree burns may require skin grafts and can be life threatening. Complications from severe burns could include heart rhythm disturbances, low blood pressure, shock, and even death.
What does workers’ comp pay for?
Workers’ comp pays for all reasonable and necessary medical treatment for a burn. This includes ambulance runs, emergency room visits, and extended hospital stays. Cosmetic surgery is also covered to help with any scarring or disfigurement. There should never be any copayments or deductibles owed by the employee. This is a lifetime benefit for a burn injury at work in Michigan.
Employees who cannot do their job because of a burn can also collect lost wages. The amount paid should equal 80% of their after-tax average weekly wage, subject to a state-wide maximum. This calculation should include money for tips, discontinued fringe benefits, and even second jobs. An employee should be paid for the entire time he or she is unable to perform their on the job duties.
A burn injury at work is not something that an employee should be embarrassed for claiming. Workers’ comp is a no-fault system and designed to protect people hurt on-the-job. It does not matter who was at fault provided the burn arose in the course and scope of employment. Even a certain amount of horseplay is anticipated and will not disqualify an employee under workers’ comp.
Beware of employers
Watch out for employers who refuse to provide medical treatment or time off. Promises to pay under the table are rarely kept and it gives the employer too much control. Never lie to an emergency room about how the burn happened because that can jeopardize future entitlement to workers’ comp benefits. Call a lawyer if a a claim is denied.
Suffered a burn injury at work in Michigan? Contact our workers’ comp lawyers for a free consultation
If you suffered a burn injury at work in Michigan and want to speak with an experienced attorney about your workers’ comp claim, call us now, or fill out our contact form for a free consultation. There is absolutely no cost or obligation. We’re here for you.
Our attorneys have been exclusively helping injured workers in Michigan for more than 35 years and can help you better understand Michigan workers’ comp laws and explain what happens if you or a loved one has been hurt on the job. To see what our own clients have to say about the caring, compassion, and communication they received from us, you can read in their own words about their experience here on our testimonials page from clients we have helped.
Michigan Workers Comp Lawyers never charges a fee to evaluate a potential case. Our law firm has represented injured and disabled workers exclusively for more than 35 years. Call (844) 201-9497 for a free consultation today.